anxiety · blogging · pain · writing

Two Kinds

One accidental kick in the wrong direction and BAM. The pain was instant and sharp and left me gritting my teeth and wanting to spew out every swear word known to mankind. That is the reaction I got from stubbing my big toe. For such a little appendage, why the hell does it always hurt so much and so suddenly? That’s the pointless question I often ask myself everytime I stub my toe. Typically I wait out the seconds that follow without even being able to move because the pain has such a pronounced agony to it. Too fresh, too recent.

I don’t know if my mind was determined to be hopefully optimistic because I’ve been in the situation many times over, but one thought stood out to me: It’s only temporary, it will pass. That thought led me to another: It feels like death, but you’re not dying. You’re okay. Sure enough, the pain started to wane the more minutes passed by, though the seconds it took for me to feel better seemed excruciating long.

Somewhere along this way, it suddenly struck me that the physical sensation of pain I felt, particularly when it started out intense and awful but slowly progressed to a more tolerable level as I let the situation be, reminded me of how I feel when I’m having an episode of anxiety. It’s not exactly the same, but anxiety can be described as painful in how the symptoms manifest and how those symptoms affect a person on a physical and mental level. Racing heartbeat. Sweats. Trembling and shaking. Dry mouth. That flight-or-fight instinct kicks in though the more I have to make a choice, the more anxious I became over actually making the choice. Much like the pain from a stubbed toe, the feeling of anxiety is not fixed and permanent. It goes away eventually but can come back.

The correlation I drew between these two kinds of pain is that both types force me to deal with a highly intense level of discomfort in my body. I started to wonder if I could have faith in anxiety being a temporary thing that can and will pass, like having faith in the throbbing pain in my toe would hurt slightly less if I just endured it. Am I comparing two things that make no sense?

There are some large differences between the two pains, too. The nerve endings in a toe are very sensitive. Impact with a hard surface triggers the nerve receptors into conveying this to the brain that reads the message as “LOOKOUT, PAIN.” I hate when that happens. Also, I have no way of running away from the assault on my body because once the pain is there, it’s there to stay until it naturally tampers off on its own. So I’m left to sit or lay down or do whatever as the terrible stinging sensation subsides. I would say that, yes, within the first few seconds when the pain is at its worst, I’m convinced it will never end. There have even been times I thought I was going to die because all I could process in my mind was the pain. This, all from a stubbed toe! Doesn’t that prove how scary the power of thought is? With anxiety, the onset of it can already be present within me for a period of time before it builds and builds to the point of unbearable intensity. Unlike the other pain, for this one, I can choose to run from it or confront it.

3 thoughts on “Two Kinds

  1. Omg haha I shouldn’t laugh but I love how you started off this blog post. I was all, “Oh no!! Did she break her leg or something???” and then “stubbed toe,” laughter, but also, “Aw man, I totally understand.” For some reason, that tiny little appendage causes like the most pain ever with some impact. And then I LOVED how you correlated it to anxiety 😦
    It’s so true how the mind can hurt us. How the mind turns on itself. Sure, it might be some antiquated survival instinct, but it really does more harm than good… It’s temporary but will come back. We have to treat anxiety with breathing or positive affirmations or what-have-you, but there’s no ointment we can just rub on to keep away the infection.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t consider that the first sentence opener would’ve sounded like I broke my leg. XD It makes sense now that I’m hearing it from your perspective since I was writing with the knowledge that I actually stubbed my toe but whoever read the post probably had no idea until a few sentences down. I’m glad I made you laugh. The pain in a stubbed toe is real! 😧 I’ve had times I got teary-eyed from the stinging as a reaction because it hurt so bad lol.

      I hate having anxiety but the helpful bit about meditation is getting used to allowing the feeling to be there and not trying to judge or critique it. It also helps to focus on the breath… I never knew such a simple technique could make anxiety at least a little more tolerable. It’s so uncomfortable but in the long run, it’s a good feeling to look back and see proof that I got through it. Weird thing about the mind turning on itself during an anxious state is I’ve read this is the mind’s way of reacting to perceived dangers by having irrational thoughts that may “help” the person to be protected, even if the thoughts have no factual basis in the actual situation. My pattern used to be to just book it out of the situation and leave because I didn’t know how to rein in the flood of thoughts but also I was often desperate to just STOP feeling anxious. This cycle was really bad!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Exactly, anxiety is a mechanism for survival, but we don’t need it as much now because we aren’t cavewomen surviving a nighttime with wild animals or anything. As a result, maybe our mind is now trying to protect us from future emotional distress or something, but it is ironically causing us distress in the present xD
        Yes! It is bad to try to deny or get over anxiety asap. It’s an emotion that has to flow through. You have to kind of pass through it… which is horrible… 😥
        Stubbed toes are rough. Like the physical manifestation of anxiety as you said!

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.