blogging · cross stitch · cross stitch embroidery · embroidery

Stitching Away As Usual

Recently I picked up again on a cross stitch project that I started working on about 2 years ago. This was a stitch kit my mother had for a number of years but she never got around to opening it lol so she gave it to me after I became an avid cross stitcher.

The characters (塗糊得) which I have completed thus far.

I do believe the kit originates from China since the floss key card is written in simplified Chinese characters rather than the traditional character strokes I am used to reading. I have only just finished stitching the third character (得) today after stitching on and off for 3 days. That’s quite an improvement if I think about how I struggled to stitch the first two characters. At the time I was unaccustomed to using such a large hoop to hold the fabric in place, but now I find it easier to just clip back the areas I am not currently stitching without relying on the hoop as it was not worth the trouble. In some projects over others, hoops can be helpful.

There is one character left to stitch, and I only realized after attempting to read all characters as a whole sentence that the words are supposed to be read from right to left, which is a custom often used in Chinese written text. As a whole sentence, all four characters are 塗糊得難, though when read from right to left it is 難得糊塗. This is a proverb that translates as: “Where ignorance is bliss, it’s folly to be wise.”

Next is my continuation of the three jars stitch project. 

My favorite part of this design is the candle inside the jar. 😄

I felt a bit lost doing the half stitches around the jars and even wondered, “Is this going to look like anything worthy by the time I start adding other colors?” I’d say the answer is yes. 😉 The color I didn’t like doing much is that very dark navy blue below the jars and at the neck of the jars because it blends too much into the background. It was hard to see the color under artificial lighting so I often stitched the color under natural light during daylight hours.

Lastly is the DoNaStitch Brave/Merida fairytale series project. I am nowhere near ready to stitch the pixelated Merida characters in yet when the massive background landscape is taking up most of my time. If interested, you can buy DoNaStitch’s pretty cross stitch designs at her Etsy shop here. 🙂

So much brown, phew! 😧

Also, please excuse the appearance of the pieces of floss sticking up from various holes. I usually leave the ends of my floss like that until I am able to stitch them down on the back side of the cloth before I cut off the extra parts.

5 thoughts on “Stitching Away As Usual

  1. I have to say I think the colours in the three jars project are absolutely gorgeous! Although as a cross stitcher I can imagine it could be quite hard to stich against a similar coloured fabric but damn it looks amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When you say that, I almost believe I could teach others lol. Perhaps only one or two people at once. In a larger group, I’d be way too damn nervous and sound like a babbling idiot. 😞

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I teach crochet one person at a time and it is rare. Thus far I’ve had one successful student. I have another right now but she is on and off with motivation. If you get a student and need tips as far as approach, let me know. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

