cross stitch · cross stitch embroidery · embroidery

Several Stitchy Updates

Juggling more than one cross stitch project at once can be a real challenge! I don’t really have a proper schedule for when I stitch and most of the time I stitch when I am in the mood for it.

I’m sorry to say I am not done yet with the project I meant to finish in time for Mother’s Day. The main thing stopping me was a few floss colors I didn’t have. I recently stopped by Michael’s to get them. 

Just a little bit more to fill in!
I would say the hardest part of the Mother’s Day project is constantly having to change colors if I have to fill in one square with a specific color and then the next square next to it is a different color.

I also recently started on two travel size cross stitch projects that I carry in my bag so I can stitch at my own convenience if I am at a cafe or grabbing lunch somewhere.

The first one, which is entirely in white colored floss, was a kit I initially bought to bring to a crafting meetup.

Progress photo to show how much I got done during the crafting meetup.
Having a portable project is a great way to pass the time in a cafe, eatery, library or wherever I am in a public setting. I imagine if I didn’t have cross stitch, I would likely spend all that time glued to my phone. That’s not to say my phone can’t be a source of distraction sometimes for messaging/texting, YouTube, podcasts, music, and games, but perhaps not so much that it takes up all my spare time. 

Progress as of today!
The backstitching on this particular project is kind of fun to do, especially for the letters. Even better is the simplicity of everything being in one color so I don’t have to think about having to change floss colors. I did struggle a little with the backstitching around the letters though. When I made a horizontal backstitch and then had to do a vertical backstitch that would cross over to the horizontal one, I was not sure whether I was supposed to tuck the vertical stitch under the horizontal one or just go over it. 

The second project was too pretty to pass up. The use of color in this one is quite lovely although I’ve only just started on it. 

I am still getting the hang of doing half stitches. I am most comfortable when I only have to use one or two strands for those stitches, so I’m not looking forward to putting in the ones that call for 3 or 4 strands. 

One thing I am noticing as I stitch on the cloth is I have to be careful to pull after I put in a stitch to ensure it fits snug enough and that it isn’t loose. Typically I don’t have to concern myself with this as much if I am using a hoop or stretcher bars to keep the cloth taut and in place, but for my travel size projects, the cloth is reasonably sized so I can hold it with one hand as I stitch. I’m also too lazy to carry a hoop in my bag lol.

That’s all for now. 😊

5 thoughts on “Several Stitchy Updates

  1. 1. Perhaps because you are working on it you don’t see the amazing progress you’ve made. Compared to the last update, this is amazing!

    2. Love, love, love, love this. Enough said, lol.

    3. Oh my god, I love those colors. I do a lot of coloring and my favorites are when I use those colors.

    Well Done!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the compliments! 😃 I don’t think I will ever be completely satisfied with anything I stitch lol. Wish I could only see the good in my projects than the flaws which I perceive are there.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Honestly, that is totally normal! By the end of whatever project I’m doing, I can’t stand it (except the stuffed animals which are utterly cute). Even when I bake, I hate it. I used to not even be able to taste it till the next day. It’s because we’re immersed in it. Give it a couple months than look back. I’ve looked at projects I did years ago and was quite impressed with myself, lol. 😎 It’s an odd feeling. I don’t know any artist who actually likes what they did, initially that is. Be patient and give yourself the space. Let me know in a year if I’m wrong. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Excellent! I love having my calendar on my phone for just such things. When NASA launched Juno to go to Jupiter to take pictures, I put it in my calendar to alert me once a year as the travel time counted down to arrival. It took 5 years and arrived there 4 July of last year.

        And now you know I’m a total nerd, lol.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

