cross stitch · cross stitch embroidery · embroidery

DoNaStitch’s Brave Fairytale Series Cross Stitch Chart

I haven’t blogged very much about my cross stitching hobby, except for one other post, but I am hoping to get into the habit of writing more about the projects I am actively working on. ๐Ÿ™‚

I joined Instagram sometime last year to begin posting photos for my finished and unfinished cross stitch works, and I came across one cross stitch designer named DoNaStitch who has the most adorable fairytale themed stitch charts. I was practically salivating as I looked at the pixel figures on the designs and ended up buying all the PDF files for her charts. I highly recommend any cross-stitcher who loves cute stuff to try DoNaStitch’s designs. The charts are delivered via email once you buy them, too. Check out her Etsy store here.

I was quite excited to get begin stitching and started out on the one for Disney’s Brave. The finished project is quite large. I’m nowhere near halfway done, and the photo I included is only a small portion of what I’ve completed so far. I do not specifically remember when I started stitching, but it was definitely sometime last year.

If something looks off in the photo, it is,ย of course, the strange crease in the middle of the cloth, which is from my first ever attempt to stitch over two ends of Aida cloth to link them together because the original cloth I used to begin my project was not big enough for the whole project. I was a little anxious when I initially realized I was running out of room on the original cloth, but opted for stitching the two cloths over each other since I am not well versed in how to glue (or even what type of glue to use) the two cloths together.

Stitching the cloths together was challenging. I’m not completely satisfied with how it looks but I’ve already stitched too much to bother ripping everything out and restarting the whole project on a cloth that is the exact size needed for the whole embroidery design. I laid the two ends of the cloth over each other so their holes aligned, and that’s where I stitched over to ensure the cloths were connected to each other. Probably the most annoying thing was the ends fraying where I made a stitch to connect the two cloths over each other, or I had to make sure to not pull too hard to cause fraying. For some stitches, fraying was impossible to avoid but I tried to be as neat as I could despite the issue. It was helpful to have the cloths in place with stretcher bars as I stitched, but the downside was I had to keep checking the back to ensure my needle was going in the right holes.

I predict I may have to stitch an additional cloth to the left side when I once again run out of room. Does anyone have advice on what I can do next time so the cloths will mesh more seamlessly?

6 thoughts on “DoNaStitch’s Brave Fairytale Series Cross Stitch Chart

    1. A small project is a good idea. If you don’t mind me asking, what part of it would be physically hard for you? I often find my neck straining from sitting in the same position for 2 hours.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

