liebster award · life · social anxiety

Applause

liebster-award

This post has been sitting in my drafts section since about November 2016 and I have been slowly working to complete it over time. Now it’s finally done!

I am accepting the Liebster Award, which I have Emily to thank for since she nominated me. It never entered the scope of my mind, when I was occasionally updating my blog last year with posts, that there was such a thing as a blog award. My first reaction to receiving the award was feeling a bit surprised and awestruck that someone liked my blog enough to give me recognition for it. I can’t say I know for sure what kind of overall impact my blog has had on everyone who has read my posts, whether you are an active follower, an occasional visitor, or someone who clicks on my blog out of sheer curiosity, but I am gratified and humbled by whatever shades of emotions, thoughts, and feelings people have taken away from reading my crazy social anxiety centric posts. The award has given me the power to see that there is depth and substance in the topics I have chosen to express in my writings and share with the world. I may have my sixty seconds of fame now, but the applause doesn’t end with me, as this award has given me the chance to recognize other up-and-coming bloggers who I wish to pass this award onto. Cheers!

HERE ARE SOME RULES FOR RECEIVING THIS AWARD:

  1. Create a post to accept the award! Thank the person who nominated you and link back to his/her blog (it would help if you included a little information about it).
  2. Display the award on your blog. You can save the image and upload it to your blog post and/or add it as a widget on your blog.
  3. List 10 random facts about yourself.
  4. Nominate 5-10 blogs you admire that have less than 200 followers.
  5. Post your answers to the questions asked by the person who nominated you.
  6. List these rules in your post.
  7. Ask your nominees 10 questions after tagging them in the post.

10 Facts About Me 🙂

  1. Psychology was one of my most favorite classes during college. I loved delving into the psyche of people and learning what motivates people to act and behave as they do. I also gained a lot of knowledge about myself and my mind’s workings.
  2. I never learned how to swim or drive.
  3. My dream job would be to a farm hand taking care of and looking after animals. If only  I could!
  4. I keep three mini phalaenopsis orchids in my room, with each in different flowering colors (yellow, purple and pink).
  5. I never learned how to drive or to swim.
  6. Hiking is very relaxing to me. It’s great to be around nature.
  7. I am allergic to sunscreen.
  8. I have an inherited blood disorder called thalassemia, a kind of anemia that results in a low red blood cell count. I have minor thalassemia, which usually doesn’t require any treatment.
  9. I have 6 goldfish (Tubba, Hippo, Tippi, Koi, Red, and Ghost) and 1 Jardine’s parrot (Birdie – yes, I know, it’s not a very original name lol).
  10. I am an avid coffee drinker and have to have at least two cups per day (3 teaspoons of coffee, milk and no sugar).

Q & A

If you had one wish, what would you wish for? Why?

That’s a tough one! I think it’d be cool to be able to see into the past.

What is your favorite type of music? Genre? Artist? Song?

My favorite type is indie pop. I often find new artists to listen to through Spotify. My favorite right now is Of Monsters & Men, and their song “Your Bones”.

If you could visit/live anywhere in the world, where would you choose?

Ireland!

Who is your favorite fictional character?

Emma Swan on ABC’s Once Upon a Time. 🙂 

What is your favorite memory?

Being at a water park with my parents and cousins in Pennsylvania, and going down a slide on a big water raft that gave me an adrenaline rush of both fear and excitement.

Are you a complete mess or are you organized?

I’m a mix of both, actually, haha. I can be organized when I want to be, but if I’m in a rush, I’ll leave things lying around to clean up later.

If you could change one thing about our society, what would it be? Why?

I would want to stop the tensions that arise between people of different religions/faiths. It’s painful to know so much hate and violence has happened because of it. 

How do you deal with stressful situations? How do you wind down from it?

I try to get into the habit of taking deep breaths in and out to slow down my heart rate. If something is bothering me for more than a few hours, I write about how I’m feeling as a way to get those emotions out. Having time alone to myself in my room, with music or a podcast playing on my phone, as I work on a cross stitch project also gives me time to do things I enjoy and not be so focused on what went wrong with my day.

Pet peeves?

I’m not a fan of car alarms, particularly since I live in the city and I occasionally am woken up early in the hours of the morning to the sound of someone’s car going off. It’s worse when the alarm doesn’t stop for a whopping fifteen minutes.

Have you ever done anything you regretted/wish you haven’t have?

When I was a teenager, I know I viewed my parents in a very narrow-minded way because I could only see my grievances and how I suffered, which caused me to have contempt for them and the ways I thought they had failed me. Now that I am older and wiser, I realize no parent is perfect and they did their best, even if the choices they made didn’t have the desired results.

My Nominations

1) Hellopeaceandmind – Lovely insight into social anxiety with lots of positivity and honesty.

2) Royalreader – Great for book lovers or those who are looking for interesting books to read. 🙂

3) Halfstitch – Cute blog for cross stitchers, accompanied by pretty stitch project pictures.

4) Sociallyanxiousasian – A journey with social anxiety and the challenges/victories that come with it.

5) Twentysomethingvibes – Inspiring and uplifting posts about changing and growing with social anxiety.

10 Questions For My Nominees

What was your childhood dream, and why? 

What is one thing you cannot live without?

If you had a million dollars, what would you spend it on?

Name one piece of advice you might give to your younger self. 

What is one skill or lesson you learned this year? 

How do you celebrate your own birthday?

Describe one person you either know, have met or interacted with who has influenced you in a positive way.

Where is your favorite place to hang out?

What color makes you feel calm?

Tell me about at least two things (or people) you are grateful to have in your life.

11 thoughts on “Applause

      1. There is no need to thank me! You put so much hard work into your posts!

        I know how difficult it can be to find the right words, but you did an amazing job wording everything 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. thank you for the nomination! I just come on here and write about my day and life its nice to see that what I write actually reaches people 🙂 I hope you’re doing well and I hope you’re continuing with some sort of therapy, we all deserve happiness. Thanks Nat!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on your nomination and award. That is such a pretty Liebster award, with the flowers floating around it 🙂 I too have never learned how to drive or swim. Serious. I am not a fan of getting wet (except in the shower) and although I don’t mind visiting beaches, I never go into the water. Don’t like those spas or massaging spas either. As for driving, I just find it very stressful to be on the road. I tend to think a lot about what other drivers would do, which way they would go, etc. It probably has to do with my anxiety. But for some reason, I managed to pass my driving test a few years ago but have never driven since.

    A lot sunscreens don’t sit well with me either. When I put them on and go under the sun, they give me a rash and I’d be much better off if I had not put it on and gotten sunburnt instead. However, one time I tried an organic sunscreen and that worked for me. Unfortunately, I think the brand is no longer manufactured.

    I noticed your Spotify music playlist in your blog sidebar. First song – Shake It Out. That is my favourite song by Florence and the Machine! I saw them in concert a bit over a year ago and got to the front row. A night I will never forget 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Mabel, thank you for stopping by my blog. 🙂 I would have nominated you but have an abundance of followers and the rules say I can only nominate those with under 200 followers. Your awards page is quite lovely.

      My brother has been trying to convince me for years to get my driver’s license lol. I honestly can’t see anything good coming out of it because I’d be super scared to be in control of a vehicle like that.

      Yep, I added a playlist for all the songs I had in mind while writing my blog posts. You may have noticed some of my post titles match the songs too hehe. Florence and the Machine is really great, and lately I can’t get enough of Florence’s cover of “Stand by Me”. Her voice is beautiful!

      Like

      1. The only thing good that came out of getting my drivers license is that my drivers license is literally my ID card in Australia. I get asked for it everywhere that requires ID, lol. So it’s come in handy some what. The only time I’d probably drive if it is an emergency an no one else can – and I’ll drive at a snail’s pace.

        I literally love every song by Florence. Phenomenal artist 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It’s different in NY. I have a state ID but it’s not a driver’s license. If it were mandatory for me to have an ID by knowing how to drive, I probably would have learned.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on the nomination, Nat and I’m touched that you nominated me :). I’m super grateful that you stumbled upon my blog and that led to me reading yours. I read the majority of your posts (despite me not replying to many of them, sorry!) and you often write them well (sometimes I’m intimidated by your writing to hit the reply button! :P) with lots of personal anecdotes, and they resonate a lot with me. I enjoy reading your posts and I look forward to reading more from you. It looks like you’ve gained a lot of support from readers and I hope they offer assurance that you’re not alone 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No problem! 🙂 I am also very happy to have found your blog because you are the reason I got inspiration to do a cross stitch post. I dont mind that you mostly read but dont comment, but for sure, I love hearing comments if you feel comfortable sharing anything. I am surprised that my writing is intimidating lol. That is a similar sentiment I feel too seeing posts from people I admire (like you). Most of the time when I write a post, I often wonder if I went on about a topic for too many paragraphs and if no one will read it. Having support is great, and it has motivated me to give back sometimes by offering feedback or just dropping a comment on other people’s posts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

