anxiety · life · sleep habits · social anxiety

Aspiring for better sleep

What are some good habits of someone who gets well-rested sleep? This something I desperately want to be, but somehow I can never manage it anymore.

I have a very bad habit of being in bed while browsing my phone. I lie to myself all the time. I tell myself I’m just going to check my messages and email before I go to sleep, and instead, five minutes turns into a half hour of playing Candy Crush or speed reading through fanfiction. Before I know it, it’s 2 AM and my lamp is still on. And I feel exhausted, but can’t bring myself to stop.

Sometimes it feels like a perpetual stubbornness within myself where I simply don’t know how to relax and just turn out the lights. Even when I feel myself getting drowsy, old habits die hard and I fight sleep for as long as I can.

I find it hard to sleep early especially when I’m anxious about something I need to do the next day or if I have plans during the week that are anxiety provoking for me. Every day is a non-stop cycle of anxiety, anxiety, and more anxiety, except the anxiety level depends on the situation and how fearful I am of it.

More than a dozen times within the last year or two, I have gotten headaches or severe migraines caused by lack of sleep. At my worst, I can’t even stand up without feeling a wave of nausea hit me, and regular food smells and sounds that don’t normally bother me are triggers that worsen my nausea until I am bent over the toilet retching up my breakfast. I feel like a living corpse when this happens, and then I usually feel so physically ill that I go to sleep early and sleep it off.

I want to stop this. I know this lack of sleep is unhealthy for me, but I don’t know how to stop. Anyone have advice or tips on what I can do?

2 thoughts on “Aspiring for better sleep

  1. I have the same problem with having difficulties getting to sleep. There are a few things that help me get to sleep.
    I’m guilty for it as well, but you need to get off your phone! The light from the screens will only trick your mind into thinking that it’s time to be awake. So I personally find I get better sleep when I turn off all my electronics an hour or so before going to bed and sleeping in complete darkness.
    Also try drinking camomile tea with a little bit of honey. Camomile is a naturally Soothes the nervous system, so try drinking some before going to bed.
    If those things don’t work, try melatonin. Melatonin is basically the sleep hormone, it allows for our brains to register the dark and know that it is time to sleep. So taking it is a natural way to try to get better sleep. I would suggest taking a sublingual tablet, for the more efficient than pills that you swallow. You can normally get them in 3, 5 or 10 mg. It’s always best to start with a low dose and adjust accordingly.
    I’m not trying to encourage you to take medications or to promote taking them if they aren’t needed, but if all else fails, you can talk to your doctor about getting a prescription for trazodone. The things I’ve mentioned above helped for a little while but then became ineffective as I adjusted to it or something. So when I was at the doctors a few months ago my mom brought up my problems getting to sleep and staying asleep, so he had me try trazodone. Honestly, I’m not thrilled that I am on medication to sleep, but if it helps, it helps.
    I hope that this helps a bit! And hopefully you’ll start sleeping a bit better soon.😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The melatonin supplement sounds like a safe way to induce sleepiness. How long before bed would I have to take it in order to feel sleepy?

      I read an interesting article by Ariana Huffington yesterday and her method is to not even take her phone into her bedroom, and just leave it in another room to charge overnight. I think this is a practice I need to adopt. Just having my phone in my bedroom is temptation enough to use it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

